Skip to content

Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5: Cheapest Frontier vs Most Capable (2026)

Grok 4.5 is 5-8x cheaper at $2 and $6 per million tokens; Claude Fable 5 leads the Intelligence Index at 60 and SWE-bench Verified at 95%. Our split verdict.

Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5 — SpaceXAI's price-aggressive challenger against Anthropic's most capable model, compared side-by-side by ThePlanetTools
Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5 — the cheapest frontier challenger against the most capable model of 2026, compared side-by-side on ThePlanetTools.ai.

Feature Comparison

FeatureGrok 4.5Claude Fable 5
API input price (per million tokens)$2.00 (verified)$10.00 (verified)
API output price (per million tokens)$6.00 (verified)$50.00 (verified)
Cost per task, AA Intelligence Index (independent)~$2.49 (Artificial Analysis)~$11.80 (Artificial Analysis)
AA Intelligence Index (independent, read August 4, 2026)53.859.9 (second, behind Claude Opus 5's 60.7)
SWE-bench Verified, vals.ai (independent)Not yet on independent leaderboard (too new)95%
LMArena Elo (independent, human preference, read August 4, 2026)Not listed as of July 20261496 (sixth; Claude Opus 5 leads)
Declared context window500,000 tokens1,000,000 tokens
EU availabilityBlocked (EU AI Act systemic-risk)Available
Response speedVendor claim: much faster (Musk, unverified)Slower (per Anthropic docs)

Pricing Comparison

Grok 4.5

$2 in / $6 out per M tokens
paid

Claude Fable 5

$10 in / $50 out per M tokens
paid

Detailed Comparison

Grok 4.5 and Claude Fable 5 are the two frontier models compared here, and they sit at opposite ends of the price-versus-capability trade-off. Grok 4.5 is SpaceXAI's flagship, priced at $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens with a 500,000-token context window. Claude Fable 5 is Anthropic's most capable widely released model, priced at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens with a 1,000,000-token context window. On independent leaderboards, Claude Fable 5 leads this pair: it scores 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026 — second only to Claude Opus 5's 60.7 — holds a top-ten LMArena Elo (1496, sixth, same reading), and posts 95 percent on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, while Grok 4.5 scores 53.8 on the Intelligence Index and is not yet on the LMArena or SWE-bench Verified leaderboards. Grok 4.5 wins decisively on price — roughly five times cheaper on input and about eight times cheaper on output — and on measured cost per task. This is a split, and we do not crown a single overall winner.

Quick Verdict

This is a split by category, and we will not fake a single overall winner: Claude Fable 5 is the more capable and more independently verified model, while Grok 4.5 is far cheaper and faster and finishes tasks for a fraction of the cost. Grok 4.5 reached public availability on July 9, 2026; Claude Fable 5 has been generally available since June 9, 2026. We ran both side-by-side through our own SpaceXAI and Anthropic API keys, so our hands-on notes on Grok 4.5 are sharp first impressions rather than a matured verdict, and we anchor every capability claim to attributed third-party numbers from Artificial Analysis, LMArena, and vals.ai wherever our own time is too short. Every figure below carries its source, and vendor self-reported claims are labeled as such. Here is the short version.

  • Best raw capability: Claude Fable 5. It leads Grok 4.5 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 59.9 to 53.8 as of August 4, 2026, and only Claude Opus 5, at 60.7, scores higher on that composite.
  • Best independently verified coding: Claude Fable 5. It posts 95 percent on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, the highest of any model that leaderboard tracks; Grok 4.5 is not yet on that independent leaderboard, so it has no verified SWE-bench number at all.
  • Best human-preference ranking: Claude Fable 5. It holds a top-ten LMArena Elo (1496, sixth as of August 4, 2026), while Grok 4.5 is not listed on LMArena at all.
  • Best input price: Grok 4.5, at $2 per million input tokens against Fable 5's $10 — roughly five times cheaper.
  • Best output price: Grok 4.5, at $6 per million output tokens against Fable 5's $50 — about eight times cheaper.
  • Best measured cost per task: Grok 4.5. Artificial Analysis measures it at about $2.49 per task against roughly $11.80 for Claude Fable 5, close to a five-fold gap.
  • Best availability: Claude Fable 5. It has been available in the European Union throughout, where Grok 4.5 arrived on July 17, 2026.
  • Best factual reliability signal: a caution on Grok 4.5. Artificial Analysis's AA-Omniscience test scores it at 26 with a 54 percent hallucination rate; Fable 5 is not scored on that specific run in our sources but leads the broader capability benchmarks.

No single overall winner. Route capability-critical and verification-critical work to Claude Fable 5; route cost-sensitive, high-volume, and latency-sensitive work to Grok 4.5. Elon Musk's "Opus-class, much faster" framing is partly supported on coding value and speed but not on general intelligence or measured reliability, and we show every number behind that call below.

Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5 at a Glance

Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5 price and independent scores — $2 versus $10 input, $6 versus $50 output, Intelligence Index 54 versus 60, SWE-bench Verified not yet listed versus 95 percent, 500K versus 1M context
Price and independent scores per model — Grok 4.5 ($2 input, $6 output) versus Claude Fable 5 ($10 input, $50 output) per million tokens, with each model's independent leaderboard result and context window.

The two models diverge sharply on almost every axis. Grok 4.5 is roughly five times cheaper on input, about eight times cheaper on output, and measured at nearly a fifth of the cost per task. Claude Fable 5 answers with elite independent capability scores: an Intelligence Index second only to Claude Opus 5 (59.9 to 60.7 as of August 4, 2026), a top-ten LMArena Elo, and the leading verified SWE-bench result. One model wins the wallet, the other wins the benchmark, and that is exactly why a single crown would be dishonest.

AttributeGrok 4.5Claude Fable 5
VendorSpaceXAI (xAI)Anthropic
API model IDgrok-4.5claude-fable-5
Input price (per million tokens)$2.00$10.00
Output price (per million tokens)$6.00$50.00
Cached input (per million tokens)$0.30Prompt caching offered
Cost per task (Artificial Analysis)~$2.49~$11.80
AA Intelligence Index (independent, read August 4, 2026)53.859.9 (second, behind Claude Opus 5's 60.7)
SWE-bench Verified, vals.ai (independent)Not yet on independent leaderboard (too new)95%
LMArena Elo (independent, read August 4, 2026)Not listed as of July 20261496 (sixth; Claude Opus 5 leads)
AA Coding Agent Index v1.3 (independent, read Aug 2, 2026)64.4 — via Grok Build at high effort65.8 — via Claude Code at max effort
Context window500,000 tokens1,000,000 tokens
Max outputNot stated on model page128,000 tokens
EU availabilityBlocked (EU AI Act systemic-risk)Available
ModalitiesText and image in, text outText and image in, text out

Sources for this table are the SpaceXAI Grok 4.5 model documentation and Anthropic's models overview for specifications, and Artificial Analysis, LMArena, and vals.ai for the independent scores. We confirmed both price cards directly on the vendors' own pricing pages, covered in the pricing section below.

What Each Model Is

Grok 4.5

Grok 4.5 is SpaceXAI's flagship reasoning model, released to the public on July 9, 2026, one day after its announcement, and it replaces Grok 4.3 as the company's top model while Grok 4.3 and Grok 4.20 remain available. Per the SpaceXAI model documentation, Grok 4.5 carries a 500,000-token context window, text-plus-image input with text output, function calling, structured outputs, and a reasoning-effort control with low, medium, and high levels (high by default). It is priced aggressively at $2 per million input tokens, $0.30 per million cached input tokens, and $6 per million output tokens — what SpaceXAI frames as roughly half the price of rival flagships. One material caveat at launch: Grok 4.5 was blocked in the European Union for its first nine days, a gap closed on July 17, 2026; its documented regions remain US-based only. Elon Musk has described it as "Opus-class, much faster," a characterization we treat as a vendor claim rather than an independently verified result. For the full standalone breakdown, see our Grok 4.5 review, and for the corporate context, our report on the xAI-to-SpaceXAI rebrand.

Claude Fable 5

Claude Fable 5 is Anthropic's most capable widely released model — the public, safety-classified frontier tier — generally available since June 9, 2026. Per Anthropic's models overview, Fable 5 carries a 1,000,000-token context window (roughly 555,000 words), a 128,000-token maximum output, a January 2026 knowledge cutoff, adaptive thinking that is always on, and text-plus-image input with text output. Anthropic's own documentation labels its comparative latency as "Slower," reflecting the depth-over-speed positioning of a top capability tier. It is the most expensive model in this matchup at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, and on independent capability it is the clear leader of this pair: 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026 (second overall, behind Claude Opus 5), a top-ten LMArena Elo, and the top score on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite at 95 percent. For the full hands-on breakdown, see our Claude Fable 5 review.

Pricing: Grok 4.5 Undercuts Fable 5 by Five to Eight Times

The price gap here is the widest single difference in this comparison. Grok 4.5 costs $2 per million input tokens, $0.30 per million cached input tokens, and $6 per million output tokens; we confirmed this directly on the SpaceXAI model documentation. Claude Fable 5 costs $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens; we confirmed this directly on Anthropic's pricing documentation. That puts Grok 4.5 at one-fifth of Fable 5's input rate and roughly one-eighth of its output rate — a gap so large it changes which workloads are even economical to run.

The spread compounds on output-heavy work. For an agent that reads a large context and writes a short answer, both models bill mostly on input, and Grok 4.5's five-fold input advantage already dominates. For an agent that reads little and writes a lot — long generations, verbose reasoning traces, large code diffs — Fable 5's $50 per million output rate stacks up fast against Grok 4.5's $6, and the effective cost difference can approach an order of magnitude. Grok 4.5 also offers cached input at $0.30 per million tokens for repeated context, and Anthropic offers prompt caching and Batch API discounts on Fable 5 that narrow the gap for specific patterns, but neither closes a five-to-eight-times spread on the standard rate card.

Measured cost per task tells the same story rather than reversing it. Artificial Analysis publishes the cost to run its Intelligence Index evaluation, and it lists Grok 4.5 at about $2.49 per task against roughly $11.80 for Claude Fable 5 — close to a five-fold difference that lines up with the rate-card gap. This is the opposite of the "cheaper sticker, pricier in practice" pattern seen in some matchups: here Grok 4.5 is cheaper on the rate card and cheaper per measured task. The question the price gap forces is not whether Grok 4.5 saves money — it plainly does — but whether Fable 5's higher capability is worth paying five to eight times more for on your specific work. For a primer on why input, output, and cached tokens are billed differently, see our guide to AI model pricing explained.

Benchmarks: Capability to Fable 5, Value to Grok 4.5

This is the heart of the comparison, and it splits cleanly along a capability-versus-cost line. Claude Fable 5 holds the independent capability crown across intelligence, human preference, and verified coding, while Grok 4.5 delivers a respectable independent coding score at a fraction of the price. We separate independent third-party results from vendor self-reported claims throughout, because the two are not the same class of evidence.

Broad intelligence: Fable 5 leads this matchup on the Intelligence Index

On the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — a composite spanning reasoning, knowledge, math, and coding — Claude Fable 5 scores 59.9 as of August 4, 2026, second only to Claude Opus 5's 60.7 on that index. Grok 4.5 scores 53.8 on the same reading, roughly six points back and below the frontier cluster that also includes GPT-5.6 Sol, Kimi K3, and Claude Opus 4.8. Six points on this composite is a meaningful gap rather than noise: it separates the top tier from the strong-but-not-frontier tier. If your workload rewards the deepest reasoning and broadest knowledge, the independent number points at Fable 5.

Human preference: Fable 5 charts near the top of LMArena, Grok 4.5 is unlisted

On LMArena's human-preference Elo leaderboard, Claude Fable 5 ranks sixth at an Elo of 1496 as of August 4, 2026, with Claude Opus 5 leading the arena. Grok 4.5 is not listed on LMArena as of this comparison, so there is no third-party human-preference number for it yet. As with several new releases, independent leaderboard coverage lags the launch by weeks, and we flag the gap rather than fill it with a vendor figure. On the evidence available, Fable 5 owns the human-preference signal outright.

Coding: Grok 4.5 scores well on one index, Fable 5 leads the verified suite

Coding is measured on two independent boards, and Fable 5 leads both. On the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3 — a composite of DeepSWE, Terminal-Bench v2, and SWE-Atlas-QnA that scores a harness and a model together rather than a model on its own — Claude Code running Fable 5 at max effort reaches 65.8, ahead of Grok Build running Grok 4.5 at high effort at 64.4, a gap of 1.4 points when we read the board on August 2, 2026. On the independently run vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, which resolves real GitHub issues against a hidden test suite, Claude Fable 5 posts 95 percent — the highest of any model vals.ai tracks — while Grok 4.5 is not on that leaderboard at all and has no independently verified SWE-bench number. The honest read: Fable 5 is ahead on both independent coding measurements, narrowly on the agentic index and decisively on verified software engineering. What Grok 4.5 holds is the cost line, and it is a wide one — Artificial Analysis measures those same coding runs at a mean $2.59 per task against $11.71 for Fable 5. For readers new to the distinction between a chat model and an agentic one, our explainer on agentic coding models versus chatbots covers the ground.

Factual reliability: a documented caution on Grok 4.5

Reliability is where Grok 4.5 carries a specific, attributed caveat. On Artificial Analysis's AA-Omniscience factuality test, Grok 4.5 scores 26, with 52 percent accuracy and a 54 percent hallucination rate — meaning that on that particular evaluation it fabricates a majority of the time it is uncertain. That is a reliability signal worth weighing for high-stakes factual, legal, medical, or financial work. Claude Fable 5 is not scored on that specific AA-Omniscience run in our sources, so we will not invent a comparable number for it; what we can say is that Fable 5 leads the broader AA Intelligence Index at 60 and the verified SWE-bench suite at 95 percent, and that high capability does not automatically guarantee low hallucination. The takeaway is directional rather than a head-to-head: Grok 4.5 has a documented factuality weakness, and Fable 5's frontier capability standing is the stronger reliability proxy of the two, but readers who need audited factual accuracy should test both on their own gold-standard prompts.

The "Opus-class, much faster" claim, labeled

Elon Musk has characterized Grok 4.5 as "Opus-class, much faster." We treat that as a vendor claim, not an independently verified fact, and the evidence supports it only in part. On coding value, Grok Build with Grok 4.5 at high effort scores 64.4 on the Coding Agent Index v1.3, within 2.3 points of the board leader — Claude Code with Opus 5 at xhigh, at 66.7 — and its low cost per task makes it a credible budget alternative to an Opus-tier model for agentic coding. Claude Opus 4.8, the model Musk was measured against, is charted below it on that board, at 60.54 through the Claude Code harness at max reasoning effort — a different agent at a different effort setting from Grok Build's high-effort run, so the two figures compare pairings rather than models on their own. On speed, the direction is at least consistent with the record: Anthropic's own documentation labels Claude Fable 5's comparative latency as "Slower," so a faster challenger is plausible, though we have not measured a controlled head-to-head throughput figure. Where the claim does not hold is general intelligence and reliability: Grok 4.5's Intelligence Index of 54 sits below Claude Opus 4.8 as well as Fable 5, and its AA-Omniscience factuality score is a documented weakness. So "Opus-class, much faster" is fair as a coding-value-and-speed pitch and overstated as a blanket capability claim — which is precisely the split this comparison keeps returning to. For the model Musk is measuring against, see our Claude Opus 4.8 review.

Context, Availability, and Specifications

On raw specifications the two models differ in ways that will matter to some workloads and not others. Claude Fable 5 carries a 1,000,000-token context window, roughly 555,000 words, against Grok 4.5's 500,000 tokens — a two-to-one difference that becomes decisive on whole-repository analysis, very long documents, or large multi-file agent runs, and irrelevant for the many workloads that sit comfortably under half a million tokens. Fable 5 caps output at 128,000 tokens; Grok 4.5's model page does not state a maximum output, so we do not assert one. Both accept text and image input and return text, and neither generates images natively.

The sharper practical difference is availability. Grok 4.5 was blocked in the European Union at launch under what SpaceXAI described as the EU AI Act's systemic-risk provisions; that block was lifted on July 17, 2026, and its documented deployment regions are US-based. For any team operating inside the EU, that single fact settled the choice regardless of price for those nine days; it no longer does. Claude Fable 5 is generally available across the Claude API and the major cloud platforms, including in the EU. Grok 4.5's reasoning control exposes low, medium, and high effort levels; Fable 5 uses always-on adaptive thinking. Both are current flagships from their vendors, but they are built for different buyers — Grok 4.5 for cost-and-throughput-driven US deployments, Fable 5 for capability-and-availability-driven global ones.

How We Compared Them

We ran both models side-by-side through our own SpaceXAI and Anthropic API keys. Grok 4.5 reached public availability on July 9, 2026, so our hands-on time with it is measured in days, not weeks, and we scope our own notes to first impressions accordingly; Claude Fable 5 we have used since its June 9 release and reviewed in depth. Because Grok 4.5 is new, we deliberately avoid leaning on our own short experience for capability claims and instead anchor every performance statement to attributed third-party benchmarks — Artificial Analysis, LMArena, and vals.ai — and to each vendor's own documentation for prices and specifications. Where a number is self-reported by a vendor, we say so, and where a leaderboard has no entry for a model, we flag the gap rather than paper over it.

We disclose plainly that we have no affiliate relationship with either SpaceXAI or Anthropic, and we paid standard API rates to test both. Neither model is "ours," and this comparison is not sponsored by either vendor. Our first-impression read is that both behave like the models their scores imply: Grok 4.5 is quick and noticeably cheap to run, a genuinely appealing option for high-volume tasks, while Claude Fable 5 is the steadier, more thorough performer on hard multi-step reasoning and long agent runs, consistent with its independent SWE-bench Verified and Intelligence Index standing. Those are impressions, not measurements, and we treat them as such. The verdict below rests on the attributed numbers and the confirmed price cards, not on our vibes.

Strengths and Weaknesses

Grok 4.5

Where Grok 4.5 leads

  • Dramatically cheaper input. $2 per million input tokens against Claude Fable 5's $10 — roughly one-fifth the price, confirmed on the SpaceXAI model documentation.
  • Dramatically cheaper output. $6 per million output tokens against Fable 5's $50 — about one-eighth the price, the widest gap in this matchup.
  • Lower measured cost per task. About $2.49 on Artificial Analysis's Intelligence Index run against roughly $11.80 for Fable 5, a near-five-fold efficiency advantage.
  • Solid independent coding score for the price. 64.4 on the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3 through Grok Build at high effort — 1.4 points behind Fable 5 — at roughly a fifth of the cost per task.
  • Speed positioning. Marketed as "much faster" than an Opus-tier model, and consistent with Anthropic's own "Slower" latency label on Fable 5, though we have not measured a controlled head-to-head.

Where Grok 4.5 falls short

  • Lower broad intelligence. An Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index of 54 (No.4) against Fable 5's leading 60.
  • No independently verified coding number. Not yet on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard, so its verified software-engineering performance is unmeasured by a third party.
  • Documented factuality weakness. An AA-Omniscience score of 26, with a 54 percent hallucination rate, a real caution for high-stakes factual work.
  • US-only deployment regions. Available to EU users since July 17, 2026, but served from United States regions, which matters for data residency.
  • Smaller context and thin independent coverage. A 500,000-token window against Fable 5's 1,000,000, and days-old public availability means independent benchmarks are still filling in.

Claude Fable 5

Where Claude Fable 5 leads

  • Elite independent intelligence. 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026, second only to Claude Opus 5 and six points clear of Grok 4.5.
  • Independently verified coding lead. 95 percent on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, the highest that leaderboard tracks, where Grok 4.5 has no number.
  • Charted human preference. A top-ten LMArena Elo — 1496, sixth as of August 4, 2026 — where Grok 4.5 is unlisted.
  • Larger context window. 1,000,000 tokens against Grok 4.5's 500,000, decisive for whole-repository and long-document work.
  • Broad platform reach. Generally available across the Claude API and major clouds, including in the European Union.

Where Claude Fable 5 falls short

  • Far more expensive. $10 per million input and $50 per million output — five to eight times Grok 4.5's rate card.
  • Higher measured cost per task. About $11.80 on Artificial Analysis's run against Grok 4.5's $2.49.
  • Slower by its own documentation. Anthropic labels Fable 5's comparative latency "Slower," a trade-off for its depth.
  • Overkill for routine work. Its frontier capability is wasted on high-volume, low-complexity tasks where a cheaper model suffices.
  • Premium tier economics. The most expensive model in this matchup, which can strain budgets at scale.

When to Pick Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5

Pick Grok 4.5 if...

  • Cost is your binding constraint — its $2 input and $6 output rates are five to eight times cheaper than Fable 5, and it wins on measured cost per task too.
  • You run high-volume or latency-sensitive workloads where price and speed matter more than the last few points of capability.
  • Your coding is agentic and tool-using, where its Coding Agent Index v1.3 result of 64.4 lands just behind Fable 5 for a fraction of the cost per task.
  • You want the cheapest token rate at the frontier tier.
  • You can tolerate a documented factuality caveat and thin independent coverage in exchange for a large cost saving.

Pick Claude Fable 5 if...

  • You need the most capable model in this matchup by a wide margin — 59.9 on the independent Intelligence Index to Grok 4.5's 53.8, as of August 4, 2026.
  • You require independently verified coding performance — its 95 percent on the submitted SWE-bench Verified suite is the kind of third-party number Grok 4.5 currently lacks.
  • Your workloads demand the larger 1,000,000-token context for whole-repository or long-document work.
  • You need guaranteed availability across major cloud platforms.
  • Capability and verifiability justify paying a five-to-eight-times premium over Grok 4.5 on your specific work.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Grok 4.5 better than Claude Fable 5 in 2026?

It depends on whether you optimize for cost or capability, and we will not fake a single overall winner. Claude Fable 5 is the more capable model: it leads Grok 4.5 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 59.9 to 53.8 as of August 4, 2026 (only Claude Opus 5 scores higher), holds a top-ten LMArena Elo where Grok 4.5 is unlisted, and posts 95 percent on the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite where Grok 4.5 has no verified number yet. Grok 4.5 wins decisively on price, at $2 per million input and $6 per million output against Fable 5's $10 and $50, and on measured cost per task at about $2.49 against roughly $11.80. Best for capability and verification: Claude Fable 5. Best for cost and volume: Grok 4.5.

How much do Grok 4.5 and Claude Fable 5 cost?

Grok 4.5 costs $2 per million input tokens, $0.30 per million cached input tokens, and $6 per million output tokens, which we confirmed on the SpaceXAI model documentation. Claude Fable 5 costs $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, which we confirmed on Anthropic's pricing documentation. That makes Grok 4.5 roughly five times cheaper on input and about eight times cheaper on output. The gap is widest on output-heavy work, where Fable 5's $50 rate stacks up against Grok 4.5's $6, and it holds up on measured cost per task, where Artificial Analysis lists Grok 4.5 at about $2.49 against roughly $11.80 for Fable 5.

Which is cheaper, Grok 4.5 or Claude Fable 5?

Grok 4.5 is cheaper on every measure. On the rate card it is $2 per million input tokens against Fable 5's $10 and $6 per million output tokens against Fable 5's $50 — roughly five times cheaper on input and about eight times cheaper on output. On measured cost per task, Artificial Analysis lists Grok 4.5 at about $2.49 against roughly $11.80 for Claude Fable 5, close to a five-fold difference. Unlike some matchups where a cheaper rate card is undone by token inefficiency, Grok 4.5 is cheaper both per token and per measured task. The question is not whether it saves money but whether Fable 5's higher capability justifies the premium for your work.

Which is better for coding: Grok 4.5 or Claude Fable 5?

Claude Fable 5 leads both independent coding boards, and Grok 4.5 competes on cost. On the vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, which resolves real GitHub issues, Fable 5 posts 95 percent, the highest that leaderboard tracks; Grok 4.5 is not on that leaderboard, so it has no verified SWE-bench number. On the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3, which scores a harness and a model together rather than a model alone, Claude Code with Fable 5 at max effort reaches 65.8 against 64.4 for Grok Build with Grok 4.5 at high effort, read on August 2, 2026. Fable 5 is therefore ahead on both measurements, narrowly on the agentic index and decisively on verified software engineering, while Artificial Analysis measures those same coding runs at a mean $2.59 per task for Grok against $11.71 for Fable 5.

Does Grok 4.5 have a SWE-bench Verified score?

No. As of this comparison in July 2026, Grok 4.5 is not on the independently run vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard, so it has no third-party verified SWE-bench figure. It was released only days earlier, on July 9, 2026, and independent leaderboard coverage typically lags a launch by weeks. We flag that gap rather than substitute a self-reported number or a figure we cannot source. For an independent coding signal that does cover Grok 4.5, we use the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3, where Grok Build running it at high effort scores 64.4, just behind Claude Code with Fable 5 at 65.8. By contrast, Claude Fable 5 leads the SWE-bench Verified suite at 95 percent, a submitted, third-party result.

Is Grok 4.5 really "Opus-class," as Elon Musk claims?

Partly, and only on specific axes. We treat "Opus-class, much faster" as a vendor claim, not an independently verified fact. It holds up on coding value and speed: Grok Build with Grok 4.5 scores 64.4 on the Coding Agent Index v1.3, within 2.3 points of the board leader Claude Code with Opus 5 at xhigh, and its low cost per task makes it a credible budget alternative for agentic coding, and Anthropic's own documentation labels its Fable tier "Slower," so a faster challenger is plausible. It does not hold up on general intelligence, where Grok 4.5's Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index of 54 sits below Claude Opus 4.8 and Claude Fable 5, or on reliability, where its AA-Omniscience factuality score is a documented weakness. So the claim is fair as a coding-value-and-speed pitch and overstated as a blanket capability statement.

Which has the larger context window: Grok 4.5 or Claude Fable 5?

Claude Fable 5, by a factor of two. Anthropic's models overview lists Fable 5 at a 1,000,000-token context window, roughly 555,000 words, while the SpaceXAI model documentation lists Grok 4.5 at 500,000 tokens. That two-to-one difference is decisive for whole-repository analysis, very long documents, or large multi-file agent runs, where the extra headroom lets Fable 5 hold more of the problem in a single pass. For the many workloads that sit comfortably under half a million tokens, the difference will not affect your choice, and you should decide on price, benchmarks, or availability instead. Fable 5 also caps output at 128,000 tokens; Grok 4.5's model page does not state a maximum output.

Is Grok 4.5 available in the European Union?

Yes, since July 17, 2026. The launch-day block was reported as following from the EU AI Act's systemic-risk provisions, which impose additional obligations on the most capable general-purpose AI models; Grok 4.5's documented deployment regions remain US-based only. That availability gap settled the choice regardless of price for nine days after launch; what remains is the data-residency question, since Grok 4.5 is served only from United States regions. Claude Fable 5, by contrast, is generally available across the Claude API and major cloud platforms, including in the European Union. If EU data residency is a hard requirement for your deployment, Claude Fable 5's broader platform reach still matters, since Grok 4.5 is served only from United States regions.

How reliable is Grok 4.5 on factual accuracy?

Artificial Analysis's AA-Omniscience factuality test scores Grok 4.5 at 26, with 52 percent accuracy and a 54 percent hallucination rate, meaning it fabricates a majority of the time it is uncertain on that evaluation. That is a real caution for high-stakes factual, legal, medical, or financial work, and it is one reason we do not present Grok 4.5 as a drop-in frontier replacement despite its price. Claude Fable 5 is not scored on that specific AA-Omniscience run in our sources, so we will not invent a comparable number; what we can say is that it leads the broader Intelligence Index at 60 and the verified SWE-bench suite at 95 percent. Regardless of model, teams that need audited factual accuracy should test both on their own gold-standard prompts.

Did you test both Grok 4.5 and Claude Fable 5?

Yes, we ran both side-by-side through our own SpaceXAI and Anthropic API keys, and we have no affiliate relationship with either vendor. Because Grok 4.5 only reached public availability on July 9, 2026, our hands-on time with it is measured in days, so we scope our own notes on it to first impressions and anchor every capability claim to attributed third-party benchmarks from Artificial Analysis, LMArena, and vals.ai. Claude Fable 5 we have used since its June 9 release and reviewed in depth. Where a performance number is self-reported by a vendor, we label it as such, and where a leaderboard has no entry for a model, we flag the gap rather than fill it. The verdict rests on attributed numbers and confirmed price cards.

Is Grok 4.5 or Claude Fable 5 better for high-volume production workloads?

Grok 4.5, in most cost-driven cases, provided you can tolerate its reliability caveat. Its $2 input and $6 output rates and its roughly $2.49 measured cost per task make it far cheaper to run at scale than Claude Fable 5's $10, $50, and roughly $11.80, and a five-to-eight-times cost difference dominates the economics of high-volume pipelines. The exceptions are workloads that demand the highest capability, independently verified coding, the larger context window, or audited factual accuracy — for those, Fable 5's premium is justified. For most teams the rational move is to route: Grok 4.5 for the high-volume bulk and Fable 5 for the hardest or most sensitive tasks.

What are the alternatives to Grok 4.5 and Claude Fable 5?

Several sit close by. Claude Opus 4.8 is Anthropic's flagship one tier below Fable 5, at half the rate card and the Opus-class model Musk measures Grok against. GPT-5.5 is OpenAI's flagship and a direct capability neighbor to Grok 4.5 on coding. Grok 4.3, Grok 4.5's predecessor, remains available and cheaper still for routine work. For the adjacent matchups in detail, see our Claude Fable 5 vs Grok 4.3 comparison, our Claude Fable 5 vs GPT-5.5 comparison, our Claude Fable 5 vs Claude Opus 4.8 comparison, and our GPT-5.5 review and Grok 4.3 review.

Final Verdict — Capability or Value, Not Both

Grok 4.5 vs Claude Fable 5 verdict — Grok 4.5 wins token price, cost per task, and speed; Claude Fable 5 wins top intelligence, verified coding, and EU availability
Verdict by category — Grok 4.5 takes token price, cost per task, and the speed claim; Claude Fable 5 takes the top Intelligence Index and verified coding.

After running both side-by-side, confirming pricing on each vendor's own documentation, and holding every capability claim to independent benchmarks, our verdict is a genuine split along a single axis: capability versus value. Claude Fable 5 is the capability and verification leader of this pair: it scores 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026 — second overall, behind only Claude Opus 5's 60.7 — holds a top-ten LMArena Elo, and posts a leading 95 percent on the independently verified vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, carries the larger 1,000,000-token context, and is available in the European Union. Grok 4.5 is the value and throughput leader: it costs $2 per million input and $6 per million output against Fable 5's $10 and $50 — five to eight times cheaper — finishes tasks for about $2.49 against roughly $11.80, posts 64.4 on the Coding Agent Index v1.3 against 65.8 for Fable 5 — close, but behind — and is marketed as much faster. We disclose plainly that we have no affiliate relationship with either vendor and tested both through our own API keys.

We did not crown a single overall winner because the evidence does not support one honestly. Fable 5's capability lead is real across intelligence, human preference, and verified coding; so is Grok 4.5's five-to-eight-times cost advantage and its solid agentic-coding score. Elon Musk's "Opus-class, much faster" framing is partly earned — on coding value and speed — and overstated on general intelligence, where Grok 4.5 sits at 54 behind both Opus 4.8 and Fable 5, and on reliability, where its 54 percent AA-Omniscience hallucination rate is a documented caution. If your work rewards the highest capability, independently verified coding, or the larger context, pick Claude Fable 5. If your work rewards cost, throughput, or speed, pick Grok 4.5. For many teams the rational endgame is routing: Grok 4.5 for the high-volume bulk, Claude Fable 5 for the hardest and most sensitive work. For the neighbors around this matchup, see our Grok 4.5 review, our Claude Fable 5 review, our Claude Opus 4.8 review, our Claude Fable 5 vs Grok 4.3 comparison, and our Claude Fable 5 vs GPT-5.5 comparison.

Sources

Every figure in this comparison is attributed to a primary or independent source. Pricing and specifications come from the vendors' own documentation; capability scores come from independent third parties; vendor claims are labeled as such throughout.

Last compared: July 2026. Grok 4.5 reached public availability on July 9, 2026, and Claude Fable 5 has been generally available since June 9, 2026. Both are current flagships, and we will revise this comparison as independent benchmark coverage of Grok 4.5 matures.

Our Verdict

A split verdict between the cheapest frontier challenger and one of the most capable models of 2026, and we will not fake a single overall winner. Claude Fable 5 is the capability and verification leader of this pair: it scores 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026 — second overall, behind only Claude Opus 5's 60.7 — holds a top-ten LMArena Elo, and posts a leading 95 percent on the independently verified vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, carries the larger 1,000,000-token context, and is available in the European Union. Grok 4.5 is the value and throughput leader: it costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens against Fable 5's $10 and $50 — roughly five times cheaper on input and about eight times cheaper on output — is measured at about $2.49 per task against roughly $11.80 for Fable 5, posts 64.4 on the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3 against 65.8 for Fable 5 — narrowly behind, not ahead — and is marketed as much faster, consistent with Anthropic's own Slower latency label on Fable 5. Grok 4.5 carries real caveats: it is not yet on the independent SWE-bench Verified or LMArena leaderboards, its AA-Omniscience factuality score of 26 comes with a 54 percent hallucination rate, and it is blocked in the European Union under the AI Act's systemic-risk provisions. Elon Musk's 'Opus-class, much faster' framing is partly supported on coding value and speed but overstated on general intelligence and reliability. Best for capability, independently verified coding, the larger context, and EU availability: Claude Fable 5. Best for cost, throughput, and speed outside the EU: Grok 4.5. No single overall winner — route capability-critical and EU-based work to Claude Fable 5, and cost-sensitive high-volume work outside the EU to Grok 4.5.

Choose Grok 4.5

SpaceXAI's reasoning model — Opus-class speed at $2 and $6 per million tokens, 500K context, available to EU users since July 17, 2026; succeeded by Grok 4.6 on August 12.

Try Grok 4.5

Choose Claude Fable 5

Anthropic's most capable widely released model — the public, safety-classified Mythos-class frontier tier.

Try Claude Fable 5

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Grok 4.5 better than Claude Fable 5?

A split verdict between the cheapest frontier challenger and one of the most capable models of 2026, and we will not fake a single overall winner. Claude Fable 5 is the capability and verification leader of this pair: it scores 59.9 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index as of August 4, 2026 — second overall, behind only Claude Opus 5's 60.7 — holds a top-ten LMArena Elo, and posts a leading 95 percent on the independently verified vals.ai SWE-bench Verified suite, carries the larger 1,000,000-token context, and is available in the European Union. Grok 4.5 is the value and throughput leader: it costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens against Fable 5's $10 and $50 — roughly five times cheaper on input and about eight times cheaper on output — is measured at about $2.49 per task against roughly $11.80 for Fable 5, posts 64.4 on the Artificial Analysis Coding Agent Index v1.3 against 65.8 for Fable 5 — narrowly behind, not ahead — and is marketed as much faster, consistent with Anthropic's own Slower latency label on Fable 5. Grok 4.5 carries real caveats: it is not yet on the independent SWE-bench Verified or LMArena leaderboards, its AA-Omniscience factuality score of 26 comes with a 54 percent hallucination rate, and it is blocked in the European Union under the AI Act's systemic-risk provisions. Elon Musk's 'Opus-class, much faster' framing is partly supported on coding value and speed but overstated on general intelligence and reliability. Best for capability, independently verified coding, the larger context, and EU availability: Claude Fable 5. Best for cost, throughput, and speed outside the EU: Grok 4.5. No single overall winner — route capability-critical and EU-based work to Claude Fable 5, and cost-sensitive high-volume work outside the EU to Grok 4.5.

Which is cheaper, Grok 4.5 or Claude Fable 5?

Grok 4.5 starts at $2 in / $6 out per M tokens. Claude Fable 5 starts at $10 in / $50 out per M tokens. Check the pricing comparison section above for a full breakdown.

What are the main differences between Grok 4.5 and Claude Fable 5?

The key differences span across 9 features we compared. For API input price (per million tokens), Grok 4.5 offers $2.00 (verified) while Claude Fable 5 offers $10.00 (verified). For API output price (per million tokens), Grok 4.5 offers $6.00 (verified) while Claude Fable 5 offers $50.00 (verified). For Cost per task, AA Intelligence Index (independent), Grok 4.5 offers ~$2.49 (Artificial Analysis) while Claude Fable 5 offers ~$11.80 (Artificial Analysis). See the full feature comparison table above for all details.

Related Comparisons